Antihistamine protocol

So I have been doing some research (im always doing research) and came across alot of information about some interesting protocols called antihistamine protocol and Benadryl protocol. the Antihistamine protocol was developed by CCRM, an IVF clinic in Colorado.
Basically This is for recurrent miscarriages caused by immune issues, unexplained infertility, implantation issues or recurrent IVF failures.
you can just google IVF antihistamine protocol, IVF benadryl Protocol or claratin/pepcid protocol. So much information will come up.
Here is a link explaining how Histamine can affect implantation.
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1567576902002357

and here is the protocols that I found. Im not sure yet which one I am going to try yet….still going to research But I am definitely going to try one with my upcoming cycle , except I am taking Dexamethasone instead of prednisone. I think what I am going to do is 10mg of claritin in the morning,20 mg pepcid morning and night , and 25 or 50 mg of benadryl at night . plus my .5 of dexamethasone 1 time a day 🙂

The Claratin/pepcid protocol:
starting two days before transfer
5 mg prednisone twice a day (prescription steroid)
10 mg Claritin once a day
20 mg Pepcid in morning and at night

The Benadryl protocol:
Starting after egg retrival or two days before transfer for about 6 days
25 mg benadryl three times a day (morning, noon and bedtime)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. expecting to be expecting
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 13:38:40

    Is your Dr. open to trying new protocols and switching things up?

    I have heard good things about the benadryl protocol, btw.

    Reply

  2. bustababy
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 13:48:12

    Yes he is …he said we can try it cause there is no harm in it . I have bad allergies anyway so it will help me in the meantime 🙂
    I have read good things about the benadryl too thats why i think im gonna mix the protocols up lol! we shall see 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Life with Nuggets

Our story of life and love and family

My Journey For You

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Why Can't We Do This The Easy Way?

Our journey through the boggy waters of surrogacy

One Suburban Chic

Tearing Off the Mom Cape and Shopping for Stilettos

My Busted Stork

The travails of an infertile...and no, I won’t just relax!

myendojourney

Just another WordPress.com site

Endometriosis Journey

One-stop shopping for Endometriosis information.

crazyinpink

The unfortunate true stories of a girl making her way in the world while wearing too much pink

Hope, Trust, & Truth

Navigating the murky waters of a pregnancy after miscarriage & infertility through the lens of hope, trust, & truth

road2ourbaby

motherhood after IVF

What is essential is invisible to the eye

Diary of an Italian working mum in the UK

Journey to my BFP through Faith

"Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not yet seen"

My IVF Journey

confessions of an infertile...

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

My Mighty Miscarriage Foe

My fight against recurrent miscarriage

